Promoting Careers in STEM through the Pi STEM E3 Program

The National Science Foundation’s Historically Black Colleges and University Undergraduate Program (HBCU-UP) seeks to enhance the quality of undergraduate science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education at Historically Black Colleges and Universities as a means to broaden participation in the Nation's STEM workforce. The Lawson State Community College Pi STEM E3 program provides support for the implementation of comprehensive institutional strategies to strengthen STEM teaching and learning in ways that improve access to and retention of underrepresented groups in STEM disciplines. Pi STEM E3 consist of three distinct programs designed to recruit and retain STEM majors, while enhancing their STEM college experience. The three core programs are the STEM Scholars and Learning Community component, the STEM Enrichment Institute (SEI), and the STEM Bridge Pathways Program. Each program provide students the opportunity to explore STEM career paths.


The NSF S-STEM program addresses the need for a high quality STEM workforce in STEM disciplines supported by the program, and for the increased success of low-income academically talented students with demonstrated financial need who are pursuing associate, baccalaureate, or graduate degrees in STEM. 

The MAKERS S-STEM model is designed to integrate STEM enrichment, research, and peripheral activities. MAKERS' hallmark intervention will be "Learning by Making," which will involve interdisciplinary Scholar clusters identifying and investigating problems affecting their local communities, and applying their STEM knowledge to "make" a product that has the potential to solve those problems. The objectives of MAKERS are to: (1) Increase student retention and graduation rates, (2) Prepare students with the STEM academic foundation, professional skills, and experiences needed to enter the STEM workforce or graduate school in STEM disciplines, and (3) Investigate the MAKERS model's impact on recruitment, retention, success, and graduation of students in the target population and majors. 

Georgia-Alabama Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation 

The overarching goal of the Georgia-Alabama Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (GA-AL LSAMP) is to increase the quantity and quality of underrepresented minority (URM) students who earn associate and baccalaureate degrees.  The alliance is comprised of nine member institutions: Clark Atlanta University (lead institution) Atlanta Metropolitan College, Georgia State University, Morehouse College, the University of West Georgia, Paine College, Spelman College, Lawson State Community College, and Drake State Technical College.  

Lawson State Community College hosts several other STEM programs on campus including Girls IMPACT, a summer STEM program exclusively for teenage girls.

STEM Scholars Application

Summer Programs

Interested in the STEM Programs at Lawson State and need more information, contact:

Dr. Shawanda Thomas
Pi STEM E3 Project Director