Apply Now!


Click to Register !

A-Z Web Index

Students Recognized for Annual Achievements


3060 Wilson Road
Birmingham, AL 35221

Contact: Geri Albright
Director of Public Relations
(205) 929-6315
(205) 370-8201

April 12, 2012

Lawson State Students Recognized for Annual Achievements

BESSEMER, AL - As a special year-end celebration, Lawson State Community College held its Annual Honors and Awards Day to recognize the outstanding accomplishments and achievements of students in academics, service and leadership.

The top three honorees were Leslie Hill and Lakeisha Ringo who were each honored with the President’s Scholarship Award for the highest academic averages and Faron Young, who received the Vice President’s Scholarship Award for the second highest academic average.  In addition to these honors, Hill received the Accounting Outstanding Student Award and Ringo received the Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship to the University of Alabama at Birmingham, the President’s Scholarship to Alabama State University and the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Award for the All-Alabama Academic Team.  Young was also awarded with the Career Technical Dean’s Award.

Other recipients receiving major awards included:  Charlester Wims, Miss Lawson State Community College 2011, who was awarded the U. S. Congresswoman Terri Sewell Award, a transfer scholarship to Alabama State University, the Computer Science/Business Award, Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges and the Dr. Marjorie H. Lawson Achievement Award; Marney Powell, who was awarded the Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship to the University of Alabama at Birmingham, the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Award for the All-Alabama Academic Team and recognition as a Presidential Scholar; Le’Charles Sigler received the Birmingham City Councillor Jay Roberson Award and the Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship to the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

For their high scholastic achievement, several students received transfer scholarships to attend the following colleges:  University of Alabama at Birmingham - Tiona Sellers, Candace Davis, JoAnn Dill, Cornelious Jackson; Miles College - Jacquelyn Tate and Yvonne; University of Montevallo - Deborah Fields; and Alabama State University - April Cole, Ja’Nisha Watts, Diamond Eddie, Robert Williams, TraVonna Jones and Lakeisha Ringo.  Jones and Ringo received two of the presidential scholarships that are awarded.  This also follows the honors set in 2010 when Lawson State students received three of the five ASU presidential scholarships awarded for that year.

A number of students were recognized for Civic Leadership: Chaquitta Thrower, Alabama Supreme Court Justice Ralph Cook Award; Delois Brown, Alabama State Senator Priscilla Dunn Award; Deborah Fields, Senator Rodger Smitherman and Councillor Carole C. Smitherman Award; Regina Jorden; Representative Lawrence McAdory Award; and Dominic Ngigi, Representative Merika Coleman Award.

Other civic recognitions were presented to: Willie Moon, Birmingham Mayor William Bell Award; Willie Rodgers, Fairfield Mayor Kenneth Coachman Award; Deborah Tipton, Midfield Mayor Gary Richardson Award; Averi Mitchell, Bessemer Mayor Kenneth Gulley Award; and Shanna Woods, Jefferson County Commissioner Sandra Little Brown Award; Marda Jackson, Bessemer City Councillor Jesse Matthews Award; and India Allen, the Encouragement 2Excel Grant, established by Victoria Ashford.

Two hundred and three full-time students who maintained a 4.0 grade point average (grade point average) each semester in 100 level courses were recognized as Presidential Scholars for Fall 2012; 223 students who maintained a 3.5 gpa in 100 level courses each semester were named to the Dean’s List; and 100 students were recognized for selection to Who’s Who Among American Junior Colleges 2011-2012.

And in a final presentation, the President’s Trophy was awarded by President Perry W. Ward to Phi Beta Lambda, the student business organization.  The President’s Trophy, a new program, encourages participation, interaction and support by student organizations for the Lawson State Community College Foundation’s Annual Giving Program and was given to the group providing the largest donation.  Phi Beta Lambda also receives a cash contribution, lunch with President Perry Ward and recognitions on radio and television.


Marney Powell stands with President Ward as she receives a college transfer award from Frank Paige to U.A.B.

Phi Beta Lambda is named the 2012 winner of the President's Trophy

Lakeisha Ringo receives one of numerous awards from

President Perry Ward

Back to News Listing