Apply Now!


Click to Register !

A-Z Web Index

Lawson State Students Recognized at Honors and Awards Day


3060 Wilson Road
Birmingham, AL 35221

Contact: Geri Albright
Director of Public Relations
(205) 929-6315

Lawson State Students Recognized at Honors and Awards Day

BIRMINGHAM, AL - Lawson State Community College recently held its Annual Honors and Awards Day, one of the college’s major year-end ceremonies, acknowledging outstanding student achievement in academics, service and leadership.

“We are happy to recognize our exemplary students for their hard work and dedication,” said Mrs. Charlsie Cook, dean of student life.  “It is through the commitments of our students to the college and community that we perpetuate a solid foundation for others to follow."

Major award recipients included Waverly Bowser, Regina M. Mitchell and John Palmer, who each received the President’s Scholarship Award for the Highest Academic Averages (4.0 grade point average); Valencia Williams, who received the U. S. Congressman Artur Davis Award, the Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship Award to the University of Alabama at Birmingham, the Thelma Catlin Social Science Alumni Award and the Social Work Technician Award; LaTonya Owens, who received the President’s Leadership Award (S.G.A. President), the Carl L. Davis Book Scholarship Award for $500, the Psychology Award, the Dean of Student Life Award and the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Award for the All-Alabama Academic Team, a program that recognizes the scholastic and outstanding achievements of students within the Alabama College System; and Karen Williams, who received the Vice President’s Scholarship Award for the Second Highest Academic Award (presented by Vice President Bruce Crawford), and the Career Technical Dean’s Award.

The Drs. Theodore and Marjorie Lawson Award, a book award for $500, was presented by their son, Attorney Theodore Lawson. Dr. Theodore Alfred Lawson was the first president of Lawson State and Dr. Marjorie Lawson served the college as dean of students.

Other recognitions included: Robyn Houston, U. S. Senator J. B. Allen Award; Marianne J. Thomas, Birmingham Mayor Larry Langford Award; Angela Morrell, Fairfield Mayor Kenneth Coachman Award; Trashay Myricks, Midfield Mayor Gary Richardson Award; Katrina Mullins, Corey Franklin, Bessemer Mayor Edward May Award; and Phylicia Fields, Jefferson County Bettye Fine Collins Award.

Based on high scholastic performance, several students received college transfer scholarships.  Recipients included Corey Franklin, Charity Odeleye and Ryan Payne, University of Alabama at Birmingham; Donald Preston Blake and Felicia Renee Howard,  University of Montevallo; Nakeya May, Jacksonville University; and Latesa Martin, Britanny Taylor and Tanya Terrell, Miles College.  

Ninety-six full-time students who maintained a 4.0 grade point average (gpa) in 100 level courses were recognized as Presidential Scholars for Fall 2008; 152 students who maintained a 3.5 gpa in 100 level courses were named to the Dean’s List; and 79 students were recognized for selection to Who’s Who Among American Junior Colleges 2008-2009.

Back to News Listing